SOLSC – 25/31

I ducked under the low hanging ceiling and slid through the narrow passage, attempting not to brush the slimy, wet wall. A drop of water slipped off of the limestone and landed in my hair, causing me to let out a small yelp of shock, still on edge about the cave spider we saw in the enterance. Shaking off the feeling, I resumed making my way down the narrow steps into the depths of the cave. We continued to treck through the drip stone cavern, growing closer amd closer to the end of the tour. Only towards the end did the magnificent stalactites and stalagmites come into view. Large columns of rock stuck out of the floor and hung from the ceiling, creating facinating formations. A particular group of stalactites could only be described as what closely resembled a cluster of plant roots. My mouth hung open in awe as I stared at the indescribable rocks. It was as if someone made a bunch of long narrow poles out of the limestone and then grouped them all together. Pictures can’t even begin to describe the feeling of actually being in the cave and seeing the stalactites in person. It felt like a dream that ended all to soon, leaving us with memories, pictures, and plans to return.

3 thoughts on “SOLSC – 25/31

  1. This sounds SO cool! You’ll have to tell me where this was – I have a feeling my kids would love to go!

    Great job describing the small moments of your experience. It makes me wonder if you felt claustrophobic at all like you mentioned in yesterday’s post.

    • We were at Mammoth Caves in Kentucky. It was AWESOME, you guys would probably love it!
      I didn’t feel too claustrophobic, it’s such a different environment than being in a hot, cramped car.

  2. Wow! I love how you described the beginning of your journey into the cave. You build some great suspense. Then when you finally saw all the rocks I could feel your awe. Excellent writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *